Young-Adult Author Trisha Haddad is in the Spotlight

trishabook I am pleased to welcome fellow author Trisha Haddad into the author spotlight.  Please join us in discussing her third published novel, Deep Green.

Hi Trisha! Let us begin by sharing a brief synopsis of Deep Green.

Leah prefers the quiet adventure and romance of books, but during a cruise with her parents, a terrorist attack leaves her adrift in a lifeboat with strangers. She must overcome her social anxiety and shyness so that they can fight together for survival. Leah also struggles with the growing attention from the men she’s stranded with, and her mixed emotions toward them. When her fellow survivors’ dark secrets come to light, the truth will blow apart any semblance of civility and test Leah’s preconceived notions of just how far dedication can go before it crosses over into fanaticism.

You nailed the pitch of the book.  The story sounds intriguing.  What would you say is the most challenging part of writing a book?  Marketing, for sure! A recent Publisher’s Weekly column by Ellen Potter talked about what an introvert E.B. White was, and how she wondered how he’d fare in the new publishing paradigm where, she writes, “introverted authors are regularly called upon to…shout from every social media rooftop. Books are such quiet things—created in silence, read in silence—yet publishing a book has become a very noisy business.”1

My publisher is very supportive with marketing, but being “noisy” and trying to draw attention to myself is a real challenge and puts me outside my introvert comfort zone!

1 Potter, E. (2013, July 12). When Books Get Noisy: Writing is no longer a vocation for the shy. Publisher’s Weekly.

Whom is your book published through? My most recent book is published by Eternal Press. They have been absolutely wonderful to work with.

What else are you working on? On New Year’s Eve, I finished the first draft of a sequel to Deep Green.

We shared a more in-depth conversation about your book-writing process in the interview posted on www.farmingdale.patch.com.  Now I’d like to discuss the woman behind the book.  Trisha Haddad, tell us a little about yourself. 

trishapicI am a writer living in sunny Southern California with “my guys” (my husband and little sons). My passions include writing, reading, travel, and art. Deep Green is my third published book.

What is your day job? I work in scholarly publishing. I manage a team of editors who oversee the production on academic and scientific journals. I’m super-lucky that I get to spend my days with a bunch of smart people who love words!

Which genre do you read? Do you write the same genre (I read mystery, but write romance and women’s fiction) I’ve written Romantic Suspense and now Young Adult. Mainly, however, I read Literary Fiction, Classics, and Historical Fiction.

What are your favorite current TV shows? Switched at Birth! I love ASL and a lot of the show is in sign language, so it’s fun to watch and get that practice. I was also getting into Downton Abbey, but after the recent episode with Anna… sigh… I don’t know… I may just need a break to recover…

Which do you find more embarrassing to write, violence or sex? Violence for sure. Sex is only embarrassing when I think of my parents reading the book.

If you had your own talk show, who would the first three guests be? Why? Oooo… Paul Watkins, Geraldine Brooks, and Ann Patchett. Um… evidently, this would be a very popular show with a narrow audience: all bookish types that love amazing literary fiction!

Readers love following their favorite authors, which social networking sites can fans find you?  Please provide links.

I’m on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/trisha.haddad.5 and Goodreads at https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2781949.Trisha_Haddad and on Tumblr at http://www.tumblr.com/blog/trishahaddad. I’ve just never gotten into Twitter.

For more of Trisha’s interview, join us at www.Farmingdale.patch.com

***

If you would like information on the author spotlight, please contact Katie at www.katie-mcknight-author.com and/or www.Facebook.com/katiemcknightauthorpage

Leave a Reply

