Author Rose Montague is in the Fantasy Spotlight

rosebook

Rose Montague grew up around books.  The avid reader held positions in book stores and a local library.  She had the desire to write a book, but never got around to it until a back problem sidelined her.  The injury prevented her from sleeping a full night.  Rather than complain, she used the early hour mornings to pen her first novel.  The vast majority of the novel Jade was written between 3AM and 6AM.

Welcome Rose.  I’m not sure how the weather is in North Carolina, but the temperature in New York is below zero.  Come warm up in the Author Spotlight and tell me about your debut novel, Jade.

Jade is an Urban Fantasy/Romance.  It is a mix of supernatural creatures.  The main character is a little bit shifter, a little bit witch, a little bit Fae, a little bit vamp, and a whole lot of fun.

There is some mystery to the book and many surprises. Jade’s origins, where she came from and why she is here are revealed along the way. A lot of humor , action, and fun involving a visit to Faerie, assassination attempts, adventures in driving, a magical dagger, and a little romance make this book an enjoyable read.

How did you begin your writing career?

When I was a teenager I submitted some short stories to some Sci-Fi and Fantasy magazines.  All rejected and I would not continue this effort for several decades.

Who is your book published through?

Eternal Press.  They have been very helpful and supportive.

Where did you get the inspiration for this book?

I love the genre and my primary influences were Faith Hunter, Ilona Andrews, Darynda Jones, and Kaylana Price.

What else are you working on?

Book Two (That title will be Jane and Book Three will be titled Jill)

Readers love following their favorite authors, which social networking sites can fans find you?  Please provide links.

Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000712227923

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/RoseMontague

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7393094.Rose_Montague

Who reads the drafts of your novels?

I have some Facebook friends and family that really help me by reading as I progress along.

The interesting thing is the truly international side of this.  Friends in the UK, Germany, Italy, Canada, and the US have given me input and suggestions as well as a great deal of encouragement in my writing efforts.

What would you say is the most challenging part of writing a book? 

I lack patience, and writing a book requires a lot of that.  It is a learning process.

Did you conduct any kind of research in order to write this book (visit certain locales, etc.)?

Yes.  The setting in the last part of the book is Guildford, UK.  I was fortunate to have a Facebook friend that lives there help me.  I have become an expert in the fine art of Google-Fu.

 Tell me about the publishing process. Was it easier or more difficult than you expected?

Rejections are hard to get used to.  You just have to keep tweaking your book as well as your submissions.

Do you have specific techniques you use to develop the plot and stay on track?

I started with a brief outline and then went off the reservation.  LOL.  I have the ending of Book Two written in my head.  It’s going to be great.  Now it’s just a matter of getting to that point.

Thank you for joining me today.  I welcome readers to click over to www.farmingdale.patch.com for more information on Rose and her novel Jade.

Find the Book

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Jade-Rose-Montague-ebook/dp/B00GKRO8SM/ref=la_B00GL9UPH2_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1384947851&sr=1-1

Eternal Press:  http://eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781629290911

 **

To learn how you can step into the author spotlight contact Katie at www.katie-mcknight-author.com or www.facebook.com/katiemcknightauthorpage

Leave a Reply

