Jennifer FitzGerald joins us in the ‘How-To’ Author Spotlight

jennifer-fitzgeraldJennifer FitzGerald authored a book of interest to all Indy authors. Her book teaches readers ‘how-to’ create a great e-book cover. Please welcome Jennifer FitzGerald into the Author Spotlight!

Hi Jennifer. Please tell us a little bit your book — Killer Covers that Convert, 7 Simple Steps to Design a Book Cover that Sells.
Well, I thought the original cover said it best(Judge a Book by its Cover, Designing a Great eBook Cover); it is a how-to book on making a great e-book cover. Quite a few authors are unaware of just how important a cover is and so many are trying to publish on a dime, so I put my two cents in to help them out. Of course, I kind of feel it shows them just how difficult it is and that they may just want to have me do it for them. The new title, as well as the contents are a bit more specific to the needs of selling books, and why a cover really does play into that plan.

How did you begin your writing career?
I picked my subject and began writing. It really did amaze me how quickly it all came out. I know it is much more difficult to write other genres. I started a sci-fi book. I have extremely vivid dreams so this one I actually got up and took notes and then started writing. I think I have made it to chapter 3 so far. The idea is there to completion, although just like an auto mechanic, I rarely work on my own.

How long did it take you to write your current novel?
Not long. I heard someone comment that it was more like a pamphlet, at only 50 pages; although, there really is a ton of knowledge in it. I don’t like self-help books that fluff up with lots of nonsense just to make the book bigger, just the facts…as I see them.

Who reads the drafts of your novels?
My staff. I have the advantage there. My formatter was writing a book at the same time as I was so we traded services. I had my best friend read it as well. She is a school teacher so she was kind of my editor as well as giving her opinion of the book as a friend.

Share a pet peeve of yours (related to writing or otherwise).
The fluff that gets added to a self-help book to make it bigger. Book content is 100 pages when it can be covered in 20 pages.

I share that pet peeve. In this day and age, we don’t have time for fluff. Thank you for stopping by. I wish you the best of luck with your book and hope you return to your sci-fi novel. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

