Michael Haden is in the Author Spotlight

michaelhaden_large

Today I welcome Michael Haden to the Author Spotlight.  Michael wrote a novel about Deana, a young lady he coached in soccer. Tragically, a drunk driver killed her just before her 20th birthday. After she passed, he learned of her amazing biography. Deana had such a great story; Michael Haden shares it in his novel, A Deal with God.

deanmicahelcover

Please tell us a little about Deana.

Deana was the most inspirational person I ever met. She survived a brutal upbringing and became a wonderful person whose life ended way too soon.

How long did it take you to write your current novel?

One year

Did you conduct any kind of research in order to write this book (visit certain locales, etc.)?

I went to Dothan/Rutledge Georgia for an entire week.

Who is your book published through?

I author published through Create Space and call myself Denco Media.

Who reads the drafts of your novels?

Adam Camuti is my editor.

Where can we find your book?

Amazon

Readers love following their favorite authors, which social networking sites can fans find you?  Please provide links.

I have Facebook pages for Michael Haden and A Deal with God

What tools/methods have you employed to promote your book? What advice would you give to writers regarding promotion? 

I hired Nick Wale to promote my book.

Do you have specific techniques you use to develop the plot and stay on track?

I use a firm outline.

I could ask a dozen more questions about Deana’s story.  Instead, I am going to grab a copy of your book and read the story.  We cannot end the interview without learning about the author.  Here are some fun questions.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what is one thing you couldn’t live without?

Radio/music. I am the two time Beef O’breidys Karaoke champion.

How did you begin your writing career?

Deal is the Genesis of my writing career.

What is your favorite snack while writing?

Grapes

Would you please share an odd behavior you’ve picked up while writing? (An example: during intense scenes, my fingers pound the keyboard.)

Trying to not be distracted by incoming e-mail.

What is your day job?

I own Denco Water Conditioning Inc. in Odessa/Tampa Fla. Finding time.

What would you say is the most challenging part of writing a book? 

Customers don’t always understand that I have a second job.  It doesn’t bother me.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Professional musician.

What are your favorite TV shows?

24, Last Man Standing, Modern Family, Rules of Engagement and Hallmark movies.

Is there anything else you would like to say to your readers?

Please spread the word that if you are going to operate a motor vehicle please drive sober and put the phone away. Too many people needlessly perish due to the neglect of other drivers.

Thank you for joining us today.  Happy holidays!

Author Michael Haden and Deana.

Author Michael Haden and Deana.

One thought on “Michael Haden is in the Author Spotlight

Leave a Reply

