Fresh Start

The day I signed with my publisher, I decided to create a blog. The first week of this new venture was a breeze. An introduction isn’t difficult.

Week 2 proved to be a little tougher (which surprised me). I update my Facebook status every hour providing humorous stories about my children and the people I encounter on a daily basis. The moment I sit at my computer to write the blog, my brain takes a vacation, and the fictional characters who are forever chattering in my ear, bail on me.

I wondered who would buy a book written by someone who produces half-hearted blogs? I even considered throwing in the towel. Then it hit me. Why can’t my blog consist of the humorous stories I enjoy writing?

Who knows if I will gain an audience? One thing is for sure, no one is banging my door down based on the blogs I have written so far.

Today I came across something written by Cyril Connolly and saw it as a sign. “Better to write for yourself and have no public than to write for the public and have no self.”

From this point forward, I will use my voice. I hope my writing brings a smile to your face. Maybe you’ll even chuckle.

I will leave you with this story. I received the beautiful cover of my new book this week. Wanting to include my children in this writing journey, I waited until they were present before I opened the e-mail attachment. My middle son looked at the cover in amazement and said, “Wow Mom, it’s like your book is professional or something.” Mmmmm.

Katie
http://www.Katie-McKnight-Author.com

Leave a Reply

