Outlining vs Free Writing

Writing classes have taught me to outline my story before writing it. I wrote my first book before learning this lesson and found that I incorporated too much story. When I finished writing the book, 15,000 words were cut during the editing process. This time around, I wrote an outline. Now, I have too much plot and not enough story. Is it possible to incorporate plot and story properly when you first write? Maybe experience teaches this lesson. I’ve been told not to worry about it. At first, you should write for yourself and edit later with the reader in mind. I am trying this approach.

Leave a Reply

