Exercising Mind and Body

 

On Sunday, I chaperoned my son and his friends on an outing.  The other parents were appreciative when they learned I planned to stay with the boys.  My attendance saved them from sitting in the park for hours.  They didn’t realize I had been looking forward to this outing.  In my eyes, sitting in the park was not a waste of a day; it was an opportunity to write without disruption.  The boys enjoyed a few hours away from video games and I wrote five chapters. 

The downside of always volunteering to chaperone is the lack of time left for exercise.   The older I get, the more concerned I am about my health.  After I deposited the boys in their homes, I took a one-mile walk with my husband and our dog, followed by an outdoor boot camp offered by a friend.

I would be lying if I said the class was easy.  The instructor worked every muscle in my body.  Not that I am complaining.  I realize how fortunate I am to have the opportunity to exercise my body and my brain in the company of people who bring happiness to my life.  I am also appreciative of pain relievers! 

Leave a Reply

